Tarot Thoughts: My Card

Posted: March 14, 2015 in tarot
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Some time ago, the lovely Digital Dame introduced me to the Bohemian Gothic Tarot.  An act that I’m eternally grateful for as this deck has inspired,and continues to inspire dozens of rich story ideas.  But despite the fact that I’ve also used it for divination with very good results, I haven’t truly studied it.  Deciding it was time to change that, I took out the deck and wondered about the fun ways I could get more intuned with it.

Favorite card?  Too many.  This deck is a whirl of rich colors and imagery.

The card that says, “me”.  That is what i shall discern first, I decided.  My significator, if you will.

The Strength card?

strength

While the black-winged demoness atop the lion appeals to the part of me which embraces the wild, animal side in all of us, I couldn’t say that was me me.

The Queen of Swords?

Queen of swords

isn’t she as cool as the Norse hell?  But as much as I love learning, and hopefully accumulating wisdom, I couldn’t say I was her, either.

I continued through the deck.  All along having a feeling who it would be, for it was her face which had first drawn me in.

7 of Cups

What did i see?  A woman full of lust and life.  Gazing with delight at the moon.  Full of dreams.  Water symbolized by the cup and by the blood wine.  Yet the red velvet dress speaks of fire; so while this woman is touched by the moon, she does not get lost in reverie.  She has the passion, strength, and fortitude to make things happen.

That my astrological self is made of fire and water may come as little surprise.

I opened the booklet that came with the deck.

7 of Cups: “Daydreams- both realistic and fantastical.   Hopes, ambitions, possibilities- some feasible, others not.

Shadow meaning:  “self-aggrandisement.  Lunacy- becoming moonstruck and delusional.”

– Which card, may I ask, is *you* ? And does your significator stay the same through different decks, or are you inexplicably drawn to a certain card in a certain deck?

Comments
  1. Beautiful cards and agree 7 of cups is so you. If you find a sleep deprive card, with a lustful person, who seek positive that would be my card:)

  2. HaHa!

    I’ll look through the deck today to see which card strikes me as you. 🙂

    Shall get back to you on that. 😉

  3. Stephen Thom says:

    These look amazing! I’d like to see more pictures of them. Is there a slightly socially inept one, but still with a sword and lion, that I can have? Your one looks great, lots of personality – if you are (shadow-meaning-wise) moonstruck, did you enjoy the solar eclipse?

    Hoping to read some of the story ideas these cards have inspired, once they come to fruition 🙂

  4. Haha! i’ll keep an eye out for such a picture for you. 😉

    As for me, I was totally unaware of the solar eclipse at the time. Was in the hospital- had given birth to my son the day before. So you can say the solar eclipse was a special time for me. 🙂

  5. Thank you so very much, Lis’Anne! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    and haha! I like the creepy. 😉

Leave a Reply

