My current soundtrack:

Goblin’s Suspiria (from Dario Argento’s film of the same name)

Ennio Morricone’s Una lucertola con la pelle di donna (American film title: A Lizard in a Woman’s Skin by Lucio Fulci)

Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire

Mussorgsky’s Night On The Bare Mountain

Goblin’s Deep Red from Argento’s Profondo Rosso:

Keith Emerson’s Inferno (from Argento film of same name)

Hexentanz’s Mark of the Witch

Hexentanz’s Devil’s Mass

What music are you listening to during your creative endeavors?

Comments
  1. D. D. Syrdal says:

    Dario Argento is also the father of Asia Argento.

    I often have music inspire me with a plotline or a character, but I find I write more easily with no music on at all. It doesn’t seem to matter what it is, it distracts me. But I love Morricone, and these are all great pieces.

  2. Morning D.D !

    I’ve seen one of the films he made with Asia. “The Stendahl Syndrome”. Have some mixed feelings about the movie as a whole, but it has some interesting elements.

    I find I can work with music or in silence, depending on my mood. But lyrics usually distract me.

  3. Loving your current play list. I so dig these: Mussorgsky’s Night On The Bare Mountain , inferno, and Hexentanz’s Devil’s Mass which to be honest with you I will never listen in the night time…my imagination is going while on that one.

    I listen to many booting shaking music when editing to keep me away. Also it base on the photo them. Like last week I did a fairy shoot and I listen to Ed Sheeran – I See Fire perhaps a few thousand time. It must be. I play it from morning to night everyday until the edit was over and plan again to listen to it because I think it is beautiful and sad.

  4. Lora, so glad you like those!! I think the Hexentanz songs would have been great on AHS Coven. 😉

    I’ll have to look up Ed Sheeran. And I love that you did a fairy shoot. Definitely would love to hear about that.

  5. Haystack says:

    Have you ever seen the Tom Waits / William S. Burroughs collaboration “The Black Rider?”

  6. HI Haystack! No, I haven’t! Thanks so much for sending me the link. I’ll watch it this weekend. 🙂

  7. I love Suspiria! I don’t really consider it a horror film because I always giggle when watching it. I thought Inferno was a bit slow but still had that fun Argento touch that I like. Yes, I’m talking about the part where the girl’s throat gets sliced by the glass. Goblin is very nice, too. They’ve come to a city near my home so many times and I’ve missed them.

  8. Hi Duchess,

    I love Suspiria now but it took me a few viewings to truly appreciate it. It gives this feel of being unable to wake from a nightmare.

    Heh, I think I might be one of the few peeps who adores Inferno. I find it terribly underrated. Love the underwater segment that Mario Bavo designed.

Leave a Reply

